[Anime] Summer 2016 Episode One Preview Shorts Pt. 1

Share

With so many new series airing this Summer season, I fell behind on my episode one previews. So as not to make our readers wait longer, I decided to do some short summary previews in one article. Basically I will sum up the first episode within my reaction and still give you my rating of the episode. Hopefully this will help some of you decide what series you want to check out this season.

Hybrid Heart

Hybrid × Heart Magic Academy Ataraxia –  Well I was wondering what was going to be the first all fan-service anime of the season and here we have it! Basically this series is your typical female harem with male MC. The basic premise of the story is the world is being attacked by invaders from another universe.  A weapon referred to as Heart Hybrid Gear or HHG is developed which is the only weapon effective against the invaders. Of course it seems that most of the people who fight using the HHGs are large breasted females in skimpy outfits. Kizuna Hida has just transferred to Ataraxia Academy at the behest of his sister, even though his own Hybrid Heart powers are completely useless in battle. We are introduced to several of the female fighters who make up his harem. Hayuru Himekawa, Yurishia Farandole, and Aine Chidorigafuchi are the girls who don HHG and fight the incoming threats. It seems that his own HHG “Eros” isn’t completely useless and he can actually recharge the girls by groping and commiting other lewd acts with them. Overall this series has no real story and the only reason to watch it is for the fan service. I did check out both the censored and uncensored versions in which both are pretty much the same, but you get more fan-service in the uncensored version. This series gets a 1 out of 5 from me! If all you want is something to help you get aroused for your upcoming date, then check this out. If you want a story with your harem anime, then skip this one and thank me later!

Hybrid × Heart Magia Academy Ataraxia is based on a light novel series and can be found streaming on Crunchyroll, Tuesdays at 11:00 AM PDT /1:00 PM CDT/2:00 PM EDT.

Ange Vierge

Ange Vierge –  Here we have our second fan-service anime of the season! The story is what made me want to check this one out. Supposedly there are five worlds that connected when a major threat appeared. Girls from these worlds developed “Exceed” powers and a school is built to help train them for when their powers are needed. The first episode was a complete and utter mess! We were introduced to way too many female characters who spent the entire episode mainly in the bath or naked. Of course because of this we had the beam of light and steam censorship going on the whole episode. I was really hoping we would get more story, but sadly by the end I was disappointed. Seeing as the anime is based on a trading card game, I probably shouldn’t expect much, but here is hoping we see some development the next episode. Overall I gave this a 2 out 5!

Ange Vierge is based on a trading card game and can be found streaming on Crunchyroll, Saturdays at 11:00 AM PDT/1:00 PM CDT/2:00 PM EDT.

Saiki K

The Disastrous Life of Saiki K. –  This anime revolves around the life of a pink haired boy with psychic powers. If it involves using his mind he can do it – from telepathy, telekinesis, pyrokinesis, teleportation, precognition. Saiki was born to your average parents who have never realized that he is unusual. His best friend is friend is too dumb to have any thoughts to read and his other close friend thinks he has magical powers. His parent’s relationship has changed over the years from being the loving happy couple to one of bickering and anger. All he wants is to be normal and he tries to keep his powers under wraps. Overall this episode had a few funny moments, but as far as depth and development I didn’t really notice any. This seems to be your pretty average comedy and doesn’t really stand out too much. The colors are vibrant, the characters are odd, and this doesn’t seem to have too much of a plot. Overall I give this episode a 2.5 out of 5.

The Disastrous Life of Saiki K. is based on a manga series and can be found streaming on Funimation, Sundays at 11:05 AM PDT/1:05 PM CDT/2:05 PM EDT.

Art Club

This Art Club Has a Problem! –  Mizuki Usami is your typical art club student. She enjoys art and doing club activities. Unfortunately for her the club president is always napping, one member never shows up and the last one is only interested in drawing the ultimate waifu. Now throughout the episode we learn that Mizuki has a crush on Subaru, but he tells her he is only interested in 2D girls. Now when the club president isn’t napping on the couch he is taking creepy pictures of Mizuki. This episode had your average comedy feel to it and nothing that really sets it apart from others in the genre. Overall this was a fun episode that had its good moments and a couple odd ones. I give this episode a 3 out of 5!

This Art Club Has a Problem! is based on a manga series and can be found streaming on Crunchyroll, Thursdays at 12:30 PM PDT/2:30 PM CDT/3:30 PM EDT.

Fudanshi

Fudanshi Koukou Seikatsu (The Highschool Life of a Fudanshi ) Ryou is a high school boy who is also a “fudanshi” (a male who is into boys-love stories). Basically this anime is about his life and how people react to him liking BL. In this first episode, we see his troubles going to the store to buy the latest volume of his favorite BL manga. His friend Toshiaki has problems with gropers since he has long hair and always thought Ryou was into guys. Now my biggest disappointment is that the episode is only 3 minutes long. Now for a short slice of life anime this was a rather amusing episode. From the opening we still have more friends to meet, but I for one am certainly interested in finding out more about them. Overall I enjoyed this first episode and gave it a 4 out 5!

The Highschool Life of a Fudanshi is based on a manga series and can be found streaming on Crunchyroll, Tuesdays at 8:00 AM PDT/ 10:00 AM CDT/11:00 AM EDT

Ozmafia Poster

Ozmafia!! –  What drew me to this anime was the VN game that this is named after. Now the anime itself is an original story based on the male characters of the game. The first episode titled “Welcome to Oz Academy” has Scarlet arriving at his new school and gets lost on the grounds.  He runs into a member of the security team who accuses him of being a spy. While running for his life he makes it to the school entrance where he comes across Kyrie, Axel, and Caramia who welcome him to the school. Overall this was a very chill slice of life episode. Now on to my ponderings – one the episodes are only 4 minutes long, next why did they turn such a fabulously dark and mafia related storyline into a school based slife of life anime? The other confusing thing is that we have members of opposite mafia families attending or working at the same school. Now don’t get me wrong I enjoyed the first episode, but would have loved it more if they adapted the story from the VN. Overall I gave this a 3.5 out of 5! I’m a sucker for slice of life and an even bigger sucker for good looking anime characters.

Ozmafia!! is based on a Visual Novel game and can be found streaming on Crunchyroll, Wednesdays at 9:30 AM PDT/ 11:30 AM CDT/ 12:30 PM EDT

You can also purchase the VN on Steam for $34.99 if you want to experience the romance and story of the game.

Servamp

Servamp –  Mahiru Shirota is a 15 year old boy who dislikes complication and disorder. This stems from his childhood when his mother passed away and his relatives bickered over who was going to take him. His Uncle steps in and asks Mahiru to come live with him. Since that day he has vowed to live life without regret and volunteers for everything. One day he comes across a black kitten on the street and takes it in. He names the kitten Kuro and goes about his normal routine. When his friends tell him about rumors going around about an evil vampire attacking people in his neighborhood, he plays it off as just being a rumor. When he arrives home he notices the TV is on in his apartment and that is when he meets a strange person who is eating his food and making a mess of his place. When he finds out that the kitten he took in is actually a order valium online drug depressed, lazy vampire he is thrown for a loop. Mahiru is then thrown into the world of servamps when he forms a contract with Kuro to save his friend from death. Overall this was a pretty amusing episode. The characters were interesting and the so-called feud of the servamps was action packed. I have hopes that this might actually see some development in the characters and the story throughout the season. I gave this episode a 3.5 out of 5!

SERVAMP is based on a manga series and can be found streaming on Funimation, Tuesdays at 8:00 AM PDT/10:00 AM CDT/11:00 AM EDT.

Follow Me

Tiffany "CeissaDesiste" Toms

Co-Director/News Editor/Reviewer at Anjel Syndicate
Long time female gamer who has been playing all genres since the Atari 2600 and Commodore 64 days. Freelance Graphic Artist, Web Designer, Beta Tester, and studied one year of Game Design. I play games on PC, PS4, PS3, Wii, Wii U, Nintendo Switch, 3DS, Xbox 360, Xbox One, PSVita, and Android.

Part time employee of a major video game retailer.
Tiffany
Follow Me